Sutra 1.33

Last week’s passage from The Yoga Sutras…Sutra 1.33
“Maitri karuna mudina upeksanam sukha dukha punya apunya visayanam bhavanatah cittaprasadanam”

“Through cultivation of friendliness, compassion, joy, and indifference to pleasure and pain, virtue and vice respectively, the consciousness becomes favorably disposed, serene and benevolent.”
– B.K.S. Iyengar, Light on the Yoga Sutras

Maitri = friendliness/lovingkindness

Karuna = compassion/mercy

Mudina = empathetic Joy/gladness

Upeksha= Equanimity/indifference

Sukha =  pleasure/happiness

Dukha = pain/suffering/sorrow

Punya = Virtue

Apunya = Vice

Visayanam = regarding or concerning something

Bhavanatah = conception/remembrance/recollection

Citta = consciousness

Prasadanam = graceful diffusion

According to Mr. Iyengar, “These qualities keep the mind in a state of well-being.”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s